Railway zones in India

Zones and Division of Indian Railway
Zones and Division of Indian Railway

Indian Railway Zones

Indian Railways is a department owned and controlled by the Government of India, via the Ministry of Railways. Indian Railways is administered by the ✅ Railway Board, which has a financial commissioner, five members and a chairman. Indian Railway Zones are following.

Railway zones

Indian Railways is divided into zones, which are further sub-divided into divisions. The number of zones in Indian Railways increased from six to eight in 1951, nine in 1952, and finally ✅ 16 in 2003. Each zonal railway is made up of a certain number of divisions, each having a divisional headquarters. There are a total of sixty-seven divisions. The Kolkata Metro is owned and operated by Indian Railways, but is not a part of any of the zones. It is administratively considered to have the status of a zonal railway.

Each of the sixteen zones, as well as the ✅ Kolkata Metro, is headed by a General Manager (GM) who reports directly to the Railway Board. The zones are further divided into divisions under the control of Divisional Railway Managers (DRM). The divisional officers of engineering, mechanical, electrical, signal and telecommunication, accounts, personnel, operating, commercial and safety branches report to the respective Divisional Manager and are in charge of operation and maintenance of assets. Further down the hierarchy tree are the Station Masters who control individual stations and the train movement through the track territory under their stations’ administration.

Indian Railway zones List

Sl. NoNameAbbr.Date EstablishedHeadquartersDivisions
1.Central RailwayCRNovember 5, 1951MumbaiMumbai, Bhusawal, Pune, Solapur, Nagpur
2.East Central RailwayECROctober 1, 2002HajipurDanapur, Dhanbad, Mughalsarai, Samastipur, Sonpur
3.East Coast RailwayECoRApril 1, 2003BhubaneswarKhurda Road, Sambalpur, Visakhapatnam
4.Eastern RailwayERApril, 1952KolkataHowrah, Sealdah, Asansol, Malda
5.North Central RailwayNCRApril 1, 2003AllahabadAllahabad, Agra, Jhansi
6.North Eastern RailwayNER1952GorakhpurIzzatnagar, Lucknow, Varanasi
7.North Western RailwayNWROctober 1, 2002JaipurJaipur, Ajmer, Bikaner, Jodhpur
8.Northeast Frontier RailwayNFR1958GuwahatiAlipurduar, Katihar, Lumding, Rangia, Tinsukia
9.Northern RailwayNRApril 14, 1952DelhiDelhi, Ambala, Firozpur, Lucknow, Moradabad
10.South Central RailwaySCROctober 2, 1966SecunderabadSecunderabad, Hyderabad, Guntakal, Guntur, Nanded, Vijayawada
11.South East Central RailwaySECRApril 1, 2003Bilaspur, CGBilaspur, Raipur, Nagpur
12.South Eastern RailwaySER1955KolkataAdra, Chakradharpur, Kharagpur, Ranchi
13.South Western RailwaySWRApril 1, 2003HubliHubli, Bangalore, Mysore
14.Southern RailwaySRApril 14, 1951ChennaiChennai, Madurai, Palakkad, Salem, Tiruchchirapalli, Thiruvanathapuram
15.West Central RailwayWCRApril 1, 2003JabalpurJabalpur, Bhopal, Kota
16.Western RailwayWRNovember 5, 1951MumbaiMumbai Central, Vadodara, Ratlam, Ahmedabad, Rajkot, Bhavnagar


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here