Northern Railway History

Northern Railway History

Headquarters: Delhi

Divisions: Delhi, Ambala, Firozpur, Lucknow, Moradabad
Established on: 14 April 1952
The Northern Railway (NR) is one among st the nine older zones of Indian Railways. Delhi, the capital city of India, serves as the headquarters of Northern Railway. The whole zone is divided into five divisions namely Delhi, Ferozpur, Ambala, Lucknow and Moradabad for smooth administration. Northern Railway is also acknowledged to have the largest route kilometers of track (6807 km) under its control consistently yet after the streamlining of the railways into the new structure of zones.
On 14 April 1952, Northern Indian Railway came into being after amalgamation of Jodhpur Railway, Bikaner Railway, Eastern Punjab Railway, north-west of Mughalsarai and three divisions of the East Indian Railway. Northern Railway embraces states of Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Delhi and Chandigarh (Union Territory) in India. Not only this, NR is also known for operating world’s largest route relay interlocking (RRI) at Delhi.
Also Read: Southern Railway History
History Says
April 16, 1853, was a public holiday in Bombay. Throughout the early afternoon, throngs of holiday makers could be seen making their way to Bori Bunder from where wafted strains of music, rendered by the Governor’s personal band. Shortly before 3.30 p.m., 400 privileged personalities of the city climbed aboard the center of the day’s festivities – the 14 gleaming carriages of the Great India Peninsula Railway, coupled behind a small steam engine, named the Falkland.
At the stroke of the half-hour, the driver of the Falkland opened the engine valves, as his fireman shoveled vigorously. The Falkland breathed heavily, enveloping bystanders in a cloud of steam. The driver reached for the whistle chord, the crowd cheered lustily and the boom of the first volley of a 21 gun salute resounded through the moist heat of the afternoon.
A final toot of the whistle, a final snort from Falkland and India’s first railway train edged forward, puffing and hissing and groaning through the 35 kilometers to Thana.
Almost six years later, on March 3, 1859, the first Railway Line in North India was laid between Allahabad and Kanpur. This was followed, in 1889, by the Delhi – Ambala – Kalka line.
From these modest beginnings, the Indian Railways have grown to become the world’s largest network under a single management.
Administratively, the Indian Railways have been divided into sixteen zones, each headed by a General Manager and further sub-divided into divisions, each headed by a Divisional Railway Manager.
Northern Railway was erstwhile a grand eight-divisional zone- comprising of Allahabad, Bikaner, Jodhpur, Delhi, Moradabad, Ferozpur, Ambala and Lucknow embracing most of North India. With the re-organisation of zones, the Railway is now a vibrant five-star constellation viz. , Delhi, Moradabad, Ferozpur, Ambala and Lucknow.
The Northern Railway, which came into existence in its present form in 1952, is one of the Indian Railways largest zone.
Northern Railway has been, and is, the pioneer in innovation and modernization. The enterprising path of technological advancements and innovations on Indian Railways are ubiquitous all-over India; but it is a matter of pride that the journeys have in the most part begun on Northern Railway.
The computerized passenger reservation system was first introduced here, on February 19,1986. For the convenience of our customers, we have also provided Interactive Voice Response Systems (IVRS), Electronic Display Systems at stations, Recorded Coach Guidance Display System, Reservation Availability Position Information Display (RAPID), Self Dial Telephone Reservation Enquiry Booths (I ASK), Automatic Teller Machines (ATM) and Money Changing Facilities at Stations.
To facilitate the Unreserved travelers to also plan their journey ahead, Northern Railway has introduced the Unreserved Ticketing System (UTS) whereby the unreserved rail passenger can purchase an unreserved ticket 3 days in advance from the current booking counters.
Northern Railway has introduced the first diesel and electric locomotive simulators in India at the Tughlakabad and Kanpur locomotive sheds. These help upgrading the skills of the working and new drivers, providing them training for high speed train operation. All workshops, Diesel sheds and Air brake freight dept. are ISO 9000 certified. Diesel shed, Tughlakabad has the distinction of being the first diesel shed to get 14000 certification on Indian Railway. Other diesel sheds and workshops are also going for ISO-14000.
For enhancing efficiency and safety in their operations, modern signaling plays a vital role. The progress from a rudimentary interlocked system to a Route Relay Interlocked system has been a historical one. Northern Railway is equipped with 40 RRIs which includes Delhi Main RRI, which is the largest RRI System in the world, a fact certified by the Guinness Book of Records.

Our headquarters is at Baroda House, New Delhi, with Divisional headquarters at Ambala,Delhi, Firozpur, Lucknow and Moradabad. We serve eight states – Delhi, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Punjab, Uttaranchal and Uttar
Pradesh and the Union Territory of Chandigarh.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here