Kalka – Shimla Toy Train Services

Kalka - Shimla Toy Train
Kalka - Shimla Toy Train


Kalka-Shimla toy train in Himachal Pradesh is a popular way of reaching Shimla, which was once the summer capital of British rulers. The railway was completed in 1903 and provides one of the most picturesque train journeys in India. It runs for 96 kilometers (60 miles) though 20 railway stations, 103 tunnels, 800 bridges, and an incredible 900 curves.
The entire trip all the way from Kalka, near Chandigarh, takes about 5 hours. However, many people prefer to travel only from Barog, as this is where the longest tunnel and most spectacular scenery occurs. It’s a steep climb with plenty of fascinating sightseeing along the way. On 8 July 2008, UNESCO added the Kalka–Shimla railway to the mountain railways of India World Heritage Site.

How to book Kalka – Shimla Toy Train

Kalka Shimla toy train bookings open only one month in advance, not like other trains which open two months in advance. Bookings have to be done in advance especially in summer and winter, as large numbers of tourists are pouring in. During Dussehra holidays, Christmas Eve and New Year, there is so much rush, it’s better to book your ticket early. The service is available seven days a week. Toy train advance bookings can be done anywhere in India via online through Indian Railways’s official ticket booking website IRCTC.

Train Details

Kalka – Shimla Toy Trains

Kalka to Shimla toy trains numbers and timings are following
  • Train No.52457 – KLK SML Passenger – Departed at 4:00 AM and arrive at 9:15 AM
  • Train No.52451 – Shivalik Dix Express – Depared at 5:30 AM and arrive at 10:15 AM
  • Train No.52453 – Kalka Shimla Express – Departed at 6:00 AM and arrive at 11:00 AM
  • Train No.52455 – Himalayan Queen – Departed at 12:10 PM and arrive at 5:20 PM
  • Train No.72451 – Rail Motor – Departed at 11:35 AM and arrive at 3:40 PM

Shimla – Kalka Toy Trains

Shimla to Kalka toy train numbers and timings
  • Train No.52456 – Himalayan Queen – Departed at 10:30 AM and arrive at 4:05 PM
  • Train No.52458 – KLK SML – Departed at 2:25 PM and arrive at 8:10 PM
  • Train No.52452 – Shivalik Dlx Express – Departed at 5:40 PM and arrive at 10:20 PM
  • Train No.52454 – Kalka Shimla Express – Departed at 6:15 PM and arrive at 11:15 PM
  • Train No.72452 – Rail Motor – Departed at 11:30 AM and arrive at 4:25 PM

Holiday Special Trains

The following are the holiday special trains
  • Train No.253 – Depart Kalka at 6:00 and arrive Shimla at 11:05
  • Train No.258 – Depart Shimla at 9:25 and Arrive Kalka  at 15:15
  • Train No.257 – Depart Kalka at 12:30 and arrive Shimla at 18:35
  • Train No.254 – Depart Shimla at 15:50 and arrive Kalka at 21:05

Special Trains /Joy Ride on Kalka-Shimla Section from 20.04.2018

Northern Railway announced that Railway has decided to run the Joy Ride train Nos.52448/52447 between Shimla – Shoghi – Shimla and Special trains Nos. 52443/52444 and 52445/52446  between Kalka  – Shimla – Kalka from 20.04.2018 as per the following programme.
Train Nos.52448/52447  Shimla – Shoghi – Shimla Joy Ride Train
  • Train No.52448 Shimla – Shoghi Joy Ride Train will depart from Shimla at 12.45 pm  to arrive at Shoghiat 01.50 pm. the same day.
  • Train No.52447 Shoghi – Shimla Joy Ride Train will depart from Shoghi at 02.20 pm to reach Shimla at 03.30 pm the same  day. The Joy Ride train will run  from 20.04.2018 in both the directions.
Train Nos.52443/52444 Kalka – Shimla – Kalka Special Train
  • Train No.52443 Kalka  – Shimla Special train will depart from Kalka at 12.45 pm to arrive at Shimla at 06.25 pm the same day.
  • Train No.52444 Shimla – Kalka special train will depart from Shimla at 09.25 am to reach Kalka at 03.20 pm the same day.
Train Nos.52445/52446 Kalka – Shimla – Kalka Special Train
  • Train No.52445 Kalka  – Shimla Special train will depart from Kalkaat 07.00 am to arrive at Shimla at 12.15 pm the same day.
  • Train No.52446 Shimla – Kalka Special train will depart from Shimla at 03.50 pm to reach Kalka at 09.15 pm the same day.

Note: Due to operational reasons, Train Nos.52441/52442 Holiday Special train will not run. Joy Ride Train Nos. 52448/52447 will run on regular basis.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

eighteen + seventeen =