Data Logger System in Railways

Sagarmala Yojana
Sagarmala Yojana

Data Logger System in Railways

Ministry of Railways has eliminated the practice of manually recording punctuality performance at 41 major railway junctions across zones to ensure correct reporting of such data.  Following are the details about the Data Logger System in Railways.

Data Logger: A data logger (also data logger or data recorder) is an electronic device that records data over time or in relation to location either with a built-in instrument or sensor or via external instruments and sensors. Data logger system monitors the railway signalling system by monitoring the status of relays and data generated by processor-based signalling equipment. Potential Free contacts of relays are mined to data logger as input. Data from processor-based equipment is acquired through the communication port.

Railways instruct Zonal Railways to link the arrival and departure of trains with Data Loggers. The Railway Board has instructed zonal railways to link the arrival and departure of trains with data loggers from January 1, 2018, without the fear of a drop in punctuality and report authentic punctuality status. Punctuality of almost 80% of mail/express trains is being monitored through this system. This system will improve punctuality of trains and provide real-time train movement information to passengers, Railway announced through the press release.

Railway zones have provided such data loggers with this across 41 stations which include Howrah, Mumbai CST, Mughalsarai, Lucknow, Kanpur, Chennai Central, Ahmedabad and Bangalore.

It has been an endeavour of Indian Railways to run trains punctually and provide information to their customers more current, reliable and accurate, with minimal human intervention. Data Loggers were provided at Stations to monitor the status of functioning of signalling gears. For train control, Optical Fibre network has also been laid and linked to control centres of the Divisions.

It was decided to utilize these data loggers for capturing trains running information and update Control Office Application (COA) automatically at the central server. For this purpose, to start with, the data loggers of one terminal station and one more station at each zonal railway is linked with COA through optical fibre backbone for automatically picking up the train running status. The work at 17 terminal stations and 17 other stations has been implemented as a pilot project. The system has been working since 1st Jan.2018 and extended to a total of 41 stations. (List attached)

As on date, punctuality of almost 80% of mail/express trains is being monitored through this system. It has been planned to further expand the network covering all the terminal stations. With the implementation of this system, the information available to the passenger is reliable and more current.

List of Railway Stations Zones

List of Railway stations zones where data loggers have been provided. Station Name and Division of Railway are following :-

  • Khandwa Bhusawal –  CR
  • Balahrshah Nagpur – CR
  • Roha Mumbai – CR
  • Mumbai CST Mumbai – CR
  • Asansol Asansol – ER
  • Howrah Howrah – ER
  • East Outer Cabin Mughalsarai – ECR
  • Manpur Mughalsarai – ECR
  • Mughalsarai(NEWC) Mughalsarai – ECR
  • Goldenganj Sonpur – ECR
  • Seemapur Sonpur – ECR
  • KIUL Danapur – ECR
  • Pradankhunta Dhanbad – ECR
  • Bhubaneshwar Khurda Road – ECoR
  • Bhadrakh Khurda Road – ECoR
  • Duvvada Waltair – ECoR
  • Chipyana Delhi – NR
  • Palwal Delhi – NR
  • Kanpur Allahabad – NCR
  • Lucknow Jn Lucknow – NER
  • Gorakhpur RRI Lucknow –  NER
  • Varanasi City Varanasi – NER
  • Guwahati Lumding – NFR
  • New Bongaigaon-3 cabins Rangiya – NFR
  • Rani nagarJalpaiguri Katihar – NFR
  • 26 Old Malda Jn Katihar – NFR
  • Katihar RRI-3 cabins Katihar – NFR
  • Jaipur Jaipur – NWR
  • Rewari Jaipur – NWR
  • Chennai Central Chennai – SR
  • Jolarpetttai Chennai – SR
  • Gudur Vijayawada – SCR
  • Secuderabad Secuderabad – SCR
  • Jharsuguda Chakradharpur – SER
  • Bilaspur Bilaspur – SECR
  • Banglore Banglore – SWR
  • Ahmedabad Ahmedabad – WR
  • Nagda Ratlam – WR
  • Bina Bhopal -WCR
  • Jabalpur Jabalpur – WCR
  • New Katni Jn Jabalpur – WCR

Other tech news related to IRCTC : IRCTC Tech News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here