Project Swarna Details

Details of Project Swarna

Project Swarna for Rajdhani / Shatabdi Trains
Project Swarna by Indian Railway

Ministry of Railways  announced that Railway decided to upgrade Premium Rajdhani and Shatabdi trains under Project ‘Swarna’ to improve passenger experience. With improved passenger amenities, aesthetics and hygiene standards, Country’s first Swarn Rajdhani (Train no 12313 New Delhi – Sealdah Rajdhani Express) was launched in New Delhi today i.e. 29th November, 2017 at New Delhi Station. Member, Rolling Stock Shri Ravindra Gupta was especially present to introspect the revamped rake.

Under Project Swarna, a detailed programme to significantly improve passenger experience on Rajdhani and Shatabdi trains has been planned in the following 10 dimensions:
  • Coach Interiors
  • Toilets
  • Onboard cleanliness
  • Punctuality
  • Catering
  • Linen
  • Staff Behaviour
  • Security
  • Onboard entertainment
  • Real Time Feedback

For this programme, Ministry had formed nine teams of two officers each from Railway Board to monitor the progress of work under each dimension of Project Swarna. 14 Rajdhani trains and 15 Shatabdi trains have been selected for the first phase of this Project.

The first revamped rake of Rajdhani under the project was rake of Sealdah Rajdhani (12314 New Delhi-Sealdah) which was launched from New Delhi.

Salient Features of First Swarn Rajdhani 

Base on extensive research, the following features have been introduced on Sealdah Rajdhani

  • Complete interior painting to an aesthetic International colour scheme and LED lighting to improve illumination.
  • Better hygiene by providing ‘auto janitor’ system in toilets.
  • Health faucets, stainless steel wash basins improved soap dispenser and better quality dustbins, carefully chosen locations for ergonomic convenience.
  • Night signage for easy identifications of berth nos. for enroute entraining passengers.
  • Blanket covers for First AC passengers of two different colours to ensure separate cover in to and fro journey.
  • Built in ladders for First AC passengers for easy access to upper berth.
  • CCTV cameras in doorway area and aisles to monitor any suspect activity with data storage.
  • New design magazine bags with extra pocket for mobile for fitting changing life style.
  • LED lighting over mirrors.
  • Vinyl wrapping of toilet doors for improved aesthetics.
  • Epoxy coating in toilets, provisioning of extra mats in toilet to improve hygienic standards and to give a dry toilet to the passengers with improved cleanliness
  • Polished commodes and basins to make them odour free in every trip.
  • 3 pilot coaches in service to gather passenger feedback and assess journey worthiness.

An expenditure about Rs. 35 lakhs has gone into this rake which translates into less than Rs.2 lakh per coach.

Under Project Swarna, Zonal Railways were given a free hand to develop and innovate to create aesthetic and passenger friendly coach interiors on running rakes to establish new standards in passengers comfort. A target budget of Rs. 50 lakh per rake was allowed for this purpose. The list of Rajdhani and Shatabdi under this project is given below:

Rajdhani Trains covered under Project Swarna:

Sr No. Railways Train No. From To
1 ECoR 22811/12 Bhubaneshwar New Delhi
2 ECoR 22823/24 Bhubaneshwar New Delhi
3 ECR 12309/10 Rajendra Nagar New Delhi
4 ER 12301/02 Howrah New Delhi
5 ER 12305/06 Howrah New Delhi
6 ER 12313/14 Sealdah New Delhi
7 NR 12439/40 Ranchi New Delhi
8 NR 12441/42 New Delhi Bilaspur
9 NR 12453/54 New Delhi Ranchi
10 SWR 22691/92 Bangalore H.Nizamuddin
11 SWR 22693/94 Nizamuddin Bangalore
12 WR 12951/52 Mumbai (BCT) New Delhi
13 WR 12953/54 Mumbai (BCT) H.Nizamuddin
14 WR 12957/58 Ahmedabad New Delhi

Shatabdi Trains covered under Project Swarna:

Sr No. Railways Train No. From To
1 CR 12025/26 Pune Secundrabad
2 ECOR 12277/78 Howrah Puri
3 ER 12019/20 Howrah Ranchi
4 NCR 12033/34 Kanpur New Delhi
5 NFR 12041/42 Howrah New Jalpaiguri
6 NFR 12085/86, 12087/88 Guwahati Dibrugarh/Naharlagun
7 NR 12039/40 New Delhi Kathgodam
8 NR 12045/46 New Delhi Chandigarh
9 NR 12047/48 New Delhi Firozpur
10 NR 12049/50 New Delhi Agra
11 NWR 12035/36 Jaipur Agra
12 SR 12007/08 Chennai Mysore
13 SR 12243/44 Chennai Coimbatore
14 SWR 12027/28 Bangalore Chennai
15 WR 12009/10 Mumbai(BCT) Ahmedabad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

2 × 1 =