'Duronto' trains for metros

'Duronto' train services for metros, major state capitals
Duronto Express trains are a set of specialized rail services by Indian Railways like Rajdhani Express and Shatabdi Express trains. These are the non-stop point to point rail services introduced for the first time in the history of India.
These services connect the metros and major state capitals of India.Introduced in the Indian Rail Budget 2009-10, these trains run non-stop from source and destinations with some technical and crew halts in the journey. The Duronto express trains are projected to be the fastest trains in India.
The 12 new non-stop fast trains announced by Railway Minister Mamata Banerjee in her budget speech between select cities will take less time than even the Rajdhani express to complete their journey.
"This has been made possible as these trains, unlike the Rajdhani Express, will have no intermediate stoppages and run in much the same speed clocked by Rajdhani," said Railway Board member, Shri Prakash. "The trains will, however, have technical stoppages at a few stations for facilitating staff and loco change but the "transit time will come down drastically ", he said.
All the 12 trains have been announced between cities where the volume of passenger traffic and demand is high. These trains have been christened as "Duronto" -- meaning non-stop-- and will comprise both AC and non-AC sleeper coaches.

The 'Duronto' train services are:
  1. New Delhi-Jammu Tawi (tri-weekly)
  2. Howrah-Mumbai AC (bi-weekly)
  3. Mumbai-Ahmedabad AC (tri-weekly)
  4. Chennai-Delhi (bi-weekly)
  5. New Delhi-Lucknow (tri-weekly)
  6. Delhi-Pune AC (bi-weekly)
  7. Howrah-Delhi (bi-weekly)
  8. New Delhi-Allahabad (tri-weekly)
  9. Sealdah-New Delhi (bi-weekly)
  10. Kolkata-Amritsar (bi-weekly)
  11. Bhubaneshwar-Delhi (weekly)
  12. Ernakulam-Delhi (weekly).
ControversiesDue to strong protest lodged by the MPs from the Indian state of Andhra Pradesh for the negligence of their state in allotting the Duronto services, the Union Railway Minister, Mamata Banerjee (as of 2009) made an announcement of two more Duronto Services which are as follows:
  • Secunderabad Junction - New Delhi Station
  • New Delhi Station - Nagpur
Getting More about the running time and details visit Duronto trains at India Rail Info

Post a Comment



{picture#http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-0O6kmb7GF-4/Vp5wBipyycI/AAAAAAAAEcg/Pt-RQ6K9fwU/s1600-r/IRCTC%2BHELP.png} Welcome to India's leading IRCTC Help blog. IRCTC Help, providing latest news of Indian Railways and IRCTC from the year 2009. Here IRCTC Help (IRCTC Online Passenger Reservation Information) provides information's like Special Trains, Cancelled Trains List, Traffic Block, IRCTC Website Guides, Metro & Mono Rail Info, Railway Mobile Applications Info, IRCTC Catering, Train Status, PNR Status details etc. You can read more details on our About page. {facebook#https://www.facebook.com/pages/IRCTC-Online-Passenger-News/303631332986086} {twitter#https://twitter.com/IRCTC_News} {google#https://plus.google.com/101029213081299443149}

Contact Form


Email *

Message *

Powered by Blogger.